Founded in 1995, Ahead Media GmbH is a publishing, media and communication company. Ahead Media is regarded as an authority on lifestyle and design journalism in Central Europe. As a corporate member of the IDZ and media partner of many of our awards and events, it has been a close companion for many years. We have asked editor and publishing director Angelika Müller to introduce the company to us and are pleased that she has brought us a small gift: The current digital May-June issue of H.O.M.E. is available here free of charge after registration. 

1. Would you like to briefly introduce ahead media GmbH to us?
Ahead media is a boutique publishing house, founded in Vienna 25 years ago by Alexander Geringer, with headquarters in Berlin and Vienna and the magazine portfolio H.O.M.E. (present in 6 countries with own editions D, A, CU, HU, SLO, SK), flair, DOMUS and the design retailer platform TopdiTop. With its international network of contributors ahead media is omnipresent and scouts, filters, curates, communicates and multiplies Premium Competence Content in the appropriate context. Our international Premium and Luxury Competence is also confirmed by the long lasting multilingual contract publishing for Chopard, Nespresso & Silhouette.

As editor and publishing director, I have been living the Design & Lifestyle Spirit every day for almost 20 years with emotionality and passion for details and people. As a purely digital baby, I founded the international Design & Travel Directory Signatureplaces three years ago and work on numerous juries and as a moderator.

2. What was the best experience in your professional life so far? What are you particularly proud of in connection with your company? 
In my almost 20 years at ahead media - smile - I am fascinated every day anew by the different people from all areas and the constant change and development of brands and therefore also of our own portfolio and of our company that keeps up with the times. I am particularly proud of our 20-year anniversary project DAS H.O.M.E. HOUSE 2020 with GRAFT Architekten. The first 360° degree journalistic case study.  In a whole print magazine issue the complete house was built and furnished. For the first time in Germany, a complete Competence Content implementation was carried out, extended by a Virtual Reality Tour and 3D print model making, accompanied by social media and made tangible at trade fairs such as imm cologne.

The best client was Volkswagen, who gave us the greatest freedom to produce the complete creation journey of a car as a unique experience journey for print for the lifestyle travel magazine ANYWAY.

3. What motivated you to become a member of the IDZ?
The versatile network activity, the professionally established and realized UX Design Awards and the federal prize Ecodesign and the likeable people. The process of evolution of design and its value for sustainable solutions requires cross-media collaboration and bonding. Proactive and productive collaboration is highly desired and is very much in our nature. According to our claim: being stronger together - together ahead!

4. What inspires you at present? 
The exhibition SHOW OFF at the MAKK Museum of Applied Arts in Vienna is particularly recommendable. It represents 40 years of fashion, fashion magazine and cultural time travel and is very ahead. The location setting of the English series "Young Inspector Morse" and the modern design stage in the film "Parasite". And absolutely worth seeing in Berlin is the exhibition in the Hamburger Bahnhof by Katharina Grosse: Indoor and Outdoor. And of course the upcoming H.O.M.E. July-August TRAVEL double issue from July 10th with the timely cover story NOW OPEN featuring the 23 most livable cities of the current Mercer 2019 study, with many wonderful signature places in DACH and of course a Berlin Cityguide Special.

Become a member



Network for Design Knowledge & Expertise


About IDZ



Design is a people-centered approach to create positive change.


50 Years IDZ

Design in Focus


As part of the IDZ's 50th anniversary, students of the Industrial Design and Communication Design courses at the HTW Berlin interviewed designers, scientists and entrepreneurs on the current role of design and their vision for its future.

Die 1995 gegründete gegründete Ahead Media GmbH ist ein Verlags-, Medien- und Kommunikationsunternehmen. Ahead Media gilt als eine Instanz des Lifestyle- und Designjournalismus' in Mitteleuropa. Als Unternehmensmitglied des IDZ und Medienpartner vieler unserer Preise und Veranstaltungen ist es seit vielen Jahren ein enger Wegbegleiter. Wir haben Herausgeberin und Verlagsleiterin Angelika Müller gebeten, uns das Unternehmen vorzustellen, und freuen uns, dass sie uns gleich ein kleines Gastgeschenk mitgebracht hat: Die aktuelle digitale Mai-Juni Ausgabe der H.O.M.E. erhalten Sie hier nach Anmeldung kostenlos. 

1. Würden Sie uns die ahead media GmbH kurz vorstellen?
Ahead media ist ein Boutique Publishing House, gegründet in Wien vor 25 Jahren von Alexander Geringer, mit Headquarter in Berlin und Wien und dem Magazinportfolio H.O.M.E. (in 6 Ländern mit eigenen Ausgaben präsent D, A, CU, HU, SLO, SK), flair, DOMUS und der Designhändlerplattform TopdiTop. Mit seinem internationalen Contributor-Netzwerk ist ahead media omnipräsent und scoutet, filtert, kuratiert und kommuniziert und multipliziert der Verlag Premium Competence Content im passenden Kontext. Unsere internationale Premium- und Luxus Kompetenz ist ebenfalls durch das jahrelange multilinguale Contract Publishing für Chopard, Nespresso & Silhouette bestätigt.

Als Herausgeberin und Verlagsleiterin lebe ich seit fast 20 Jahren den Design & Lifestyle Spirit jeden Tag aufs Neue mit Emotionalität und Leidenschaft für Details und Menschen. Als rein digitales Baby gründete ich vor drei Jahren das internationale Design & Travel Directory Signatureplaces und bin in zahlreichen Juries und als Moderatorin tätig.

2. Was war die bisher beste Erfahrung in Ihrem Berufsleben? Worauf sind Sie im Zusammenhang mit Ihrem Unternehmen besonders stolz? 
In meinen fast 20 Jahren bei ahead media - smile - fasziniert mich jeden Tag aufs Neue die verschiedenen Menschen aus allen Bereichen und der ständige Wandel und die Weiterentwicklung von Marken und dadurch auch von unserem eigenen Portfolio und mit der Zeit gehenden Firma. Besonders stolz bin ich auf unser 20 Jahre Jubiläumsprojekt DAS H.O.M.E. HOUSE 2020 mit GRAFT Architekten. Der ersten 360° Grad journalistischen Case Study.  In einer ganzen Printmagazin Ausgabe wurde das komplette Haus gebaut und eingerichtet. Erstmals in Deutschland erfolgte eine runde Competence Content Umsetzung, verlängert durch Virtual Reality Tour und 3D Druck Modellbau und begleitet durch Social media und erlebbar gemacht bei Messeauftritten wie der imm cologne.

Bester Auftragsgeber war Volkswagen, der uns für das Lifestyle-Reisemagazin ANYWAY die größte Freiheit gegeben hat, die komplette Entstehungsreise eines Autos als Unique Experience Journey für Print zu produzieren.

3. Was hat Sie bewogen, Mitglied im IDZ zu werden?
Die vielseitige Netzwerkaktivität, die professionell etablierten und realisierten UX Design Awards und der Bundespreis Ecodesign und die sympathischen Menschen. Der Prozess zur Evolution von Design und ihr Stellenwert für nachhaltige Lösungen braucht eine medienübergreifende Zusammenarbeit und Bonding. Proaktives und produktives Mitarbeiten ist  hier sehr erwünscht und liegt uns sehr. Gemäß unseres Claims: gemeinsam stärker sein - together ahead!

4. Was inspiriert Sie zurzeit? 
Ganz besonders empfehlenswert ist die Ausstellung SHOW OFF im MAKK Museum für angewandte Kunst in Wien, die eine 40-jährige Mode, Modemagazin und Kultur-Zeitreise darstellt und sehr ahead ist. Das Locationsetting der englischen Serie „Der junge Inspektor Morse“ und die moderne Designbühne im Film „Parasite“. Und absolut sehenswert in Berlin ist die Ausstellung im Hamburger Bahnhof von Katharina Grosse: Indoor and Outdoor. Und natürlich die kommende H.O.M.E. Juli-August TRAVEL Doppelausgabe ab 10.7. mit der zeitgemäßen Coverstory NOW OPEN featuring die 23 lebenswertesten Städte der aktuellen Mercer Studie 2019, mit vielen wundervollen Signatureplaces in DACH und unter anderem natürlich einem Berlin Cityguide Special.

Mitglied werden



Professionelles Netzwerk für Design-Expertise


Das IDZ



Design is a people-centered approach to create positive change.


50 Jahre IDZ

Design im Fokus


Anlässlich des 50. Jubiläums des IDZ haben Designstudierende der HTW Berlin Interviews mit Wegbegleitern des IDZ und führenden Persönlichkeiten aus Design und Gesellschaft geführt.

Dabei haben sie u.a. Designerinnen und Designer verschiedener Generationen nach der Rolle von Design und ihrer Vision für die Zukunft befragt.